Municipalities Awarded for Quality Water

Minister Anton Bredell

Western Cape Minister for Local Government

The Minister of Local Government, Mr Anton Bredell, congratulates the Western Cape municipalities for outstanding water quality management performances during the 2012 Blue Drop Water Quality assessments. The water quality survey was conducted by the Department of Water Affairs, which was announced by the Water and Environment Affairs Minister Edna Molewa yesterday.

Four of the top ten performing municipalities nationally are located in the Western Cape, namely the City of Cape Town; Bitou; Witzenberg and George. The following municipalities also achieved Blue Drop scores above 90%, namely Overstrand; Drakenstein; Mossel Bay; Stellenbosch; Saldanha Bay; Swartland; Beaufort West; Bergrivier and Knysna.

This year’s Blue Drop Water Quality Assessment Report said: “The small municipality of Bitou continues to impress (and) together with Witzenberg in third place, they remain the national leaders in the class of smaller municipalities and must be used as case studies to inspire others to reach the same heights.”

The Blue Drop certificate is awarded in acknowledgement of excellent drinking water quality management, which surpasses the requirements of national norms and standards.

The following Western Cape municipalities must also commended for achieving the largest improvements from 2011 to 2012 with the Blue Drop Water Quality Assessment, namely Cederberg; Matzikama; Oudtshoorn; Langeberg and Hessequa. No municipalities in the Western Cape were red-flagged by the Department of Water Affairs for unsafe drinking water.

“I would like to congratulate the management and staff of from all the winning municipalities for their selfless service to the society”, Bredell said”. This is quite a remarkable achievement and I encourage all the Western Cape Municipalities to follow the examples of Bitou; Witzenberg and George to improve their water quality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *