Free State water crisis: HRC to investigate

Patricia Kopane MP

DA Leader in the Free State

The Human Rights Commission has confirmed to the DA that it will be investigating the Free State government for failure to uphold its constitutional mandate to ensure people’s access to safe, clean and sustained water supply.

The DA lodged a complaint with the Commission on the 30th September 2013. The DA requested the HRC to investigate the Free State Provincial Department of Cooperative Governance, Traditional Affairs and Human Settlements in its failure to effectively manage fresh water resources, maintain existing and establish new water infrastructure and failure to implement measures to alleviate the water crisis in the province.

On Friday, 20th September 2013, the DA marched to the Cogta MEC’s office to hand over a memorandum with the objective of highlighting the plight of communities from more than 26 towns across the Free State that struggle daily with access to clean, safe and drinkable water.

Communities from the following towns are experiencing short water supply, suffer from water disruptions, or only have access to water that is unfit for human consumption:

1. Jacobsdal
2. Fauresmith
3. Trompsburg
4. Bethulie
5. Smithfield
6. Zastron
7. Wepener
8. Dewetsdorp
9. Dealesville
10. Brandfort
11. Theunissen
12. Winburg
13. Soutpan
14. Tweespruit
15. Marquard
16. Clocolan
17. Steynsrus
18. Fouriesburg
19. Memel
20. Warden
21. Petrus Steyn
22. Lindley
23. Parys
24. Koppies
25. Vredefort
26. Oranjeville

Cogta MEC Mlamleli has failed to acknowledged receipt of our memorandum. She has further failed to come forward with a plan to address the water crisis plaguing communities throughout the province.

We are pleased that the HRC will investigate and hope that this will spur the Free State government to take action and start providing water to the people.