DA Mpumalanga welcomes new councillors in office

Anthony Benadie MPL

Provincial Leader – Mpumalanga

Following the DA’s growth in the 2014 national and provincial elections, a number of our municipal and district councillors vacated their seats to take up office in Parliament or the Provincial Legislature.

As a result the DA has followed its internal candidate nomination processes and selected councillors to replace Jane Sithole (Emalahleni) and Bosman Grobler (Nkangala district), as well as the wards vacated by Tarnia Baker (Govan Mbeki, Ward 30) Henro Kruger (Emalahleni, Ward 18) and Farhad Essack (Thaba Chweu, Ward 14).

The DA is proud to announce the selection of the following proportional councillors:

  • Ms Gerda Amoraal to the Nkangala District Council; and
  • Ms Maria Thulari to the Emalahleni Local Council.

The application, interview and selection process of ward candidates has also been finalised, and the following persons will stand as DA candidates in their respective wards during the by-elections on 2 July:

  • Govan Mbeki – Mr Pierre Bosch;
  • Emalahleni – Ms Jolandi Breetzke; and

The Thaba Chweu by-election is scheduled to take place on 13 August and the DA will announce the name of the successful candidate in due course.

The DA is extremely proud of each and every one of these individuals, and we are confident that they will carry on where their predecessors have left off and take the DA to new heights as we head for the 2016 local government elections.