Authorities probe 30 Limpopo municipalities

Jacques Smalle (MPL)

DA Limpopo Provincial Leader

The DA welcomes the various investigations being conducted by the Public Protector, the Directorate for Priority Crime Investigation (HAWKS) and Special Investigations Unit (SIU) into Limpopo municipalities.

This came to light in a parliamentary reply by the national department of COGHSTA to the DA’s questions about the state of accountability in municipalities.

There are 27 municipalities being investigated for various offences by the Public Protector. These allegations are from the public and not from the incapacitated COGHSTA Limpopo.

The priority municipalities that are being investigated are Polokwane municipality with five cases while Giyani, Makhuduthamakga, Vhembe and Thulamela had 2 cases each.

The Hawks are investigating 11 municipalities such as Capricorn District Municipality, Mogalakwena, Mopani, Fetakgomo and Blouberg to name a few. They refused to disclose the names of officials involved because some matters are still sub-judice.

The SIU is investigating   the Vhembe District   and Greater Tubatse Local Municipality.

It is not surprising that COGHSTA is faced with such action, considering how municipalities in the province are plagued with under spending of Municipal Infrastructure Grants, non- filling of critical posts such as CFO positions and persistent disclaimers, as indicated by the 2012/13 Limpopo Municipal Performance Report (Section 47).

As the DA portfolio spokesperson, I will write a letter to the MEC of COGHSTA , M.G. Mukhurupetje, emphasising that these investigations are a sign of an ailing local government that is disintegrating into a state of collapse. I will urge her to table a comprehensive programme of action that would enable the provincial department to take decisive political action to nurse our municipalities back to health.

The people of Limpopo will vote for the DA in 2016 as it is the only party that can turn this situation around and provide an alternative to the poor track record of the ANC’s leadership in governing municipalities.