Ministers to welcome Phelophepa Health train in the Western Cape

Media Advisory:

On Monday, 17 August 2015 Western Cape Minister of Health, Dr Nomafrench Mbombo and Minister of Transport and Public Works, Donald Grant will welcome the Phelophepa Health train in De Doorns.

The Phelophepa Health Care Train has reached 23.5 million people in South Africa since it rolled out in 1994. The health-care services provided from the train are largely free of charge or offered at an exceptionally low cost to communities in rural areas. The services include a health clinic, dental clinic, eye clinic, psychology clinic and cancer screening services.

The train will be visiting towns in the Western Cape as follows:

De Doorns: Mon 17 – Friday 21 August

Oudtshoorn: Mon 24 – Friday 28 August

George: Mon 31 Sept- Friday 4 September

Swellendam: Mon 7 September- Friday 11 September

Ashton: Mon 14 – Friday 18 September

Saldanha: Mon 21- Friday 25 September AND Mon 28 September- Friday 2 October

 

The Ministers and will be met by senior officials from Transnet, who will accompany them on a walk-about of the facility.

Media is invited to attend.

 

Date: 17 August 2015

Time: 10:00 – 11:30

Venue: DE DOORNS RAILWAY STATION: -33.481633, 19.666000

There will be opportunities for interviews and photographs

Please share this...Email this to someonePrint this pageDigg thisShare on StumbleUponShare on RedditShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook